Branch Executives


NSW 2840
T: 02 6872 4334
M: 0427 724 334
E: Click here to show email


NSW 2840
T: 02 6874 7354
M: 0427747354
E: Click here to show email

Welcome to the Bourke page.

At the beginning of 1971 Pat Edgley called a meeting of parents in Bourke to form an organisation to fight for a subsidy to save the local hostel. On 16th April 1971, the Isolated Children's Parents' Association was born and the fight for "access to education" for the isolated child began its 39 year history. A further meeting was held two weeks later with Wally Mitchell being elected the first President - Pat Edgley the secretary/organiser and Judy Jakins as treasurer. The yearly membership was set at 50 cents.

Bourke has six life members - Toni Ridge, Pat Edgley (deceased), Judy Jakins, Bob Ridge, Wally Mitchell & Rona Davis.  A majority of our branches’ fundraising comes in the form of catering at clearing sales and rallies. In 2008 our branch catered for about 160 rally participants from South Dubbo Rotary Club. The club had an extremely successful rally which they have kindly donated to our Branch.

 We are fortunate that we still have some dedicated members who attend conferences and present motions that are so important to our children’s education. As a tribute to Pat who was the ‘mother of ICPA’ the Bourke branch continues to support ICPA and welcomes new members. State Conference was last held in Bourke in 2003. As it is the 40th Anniversary of the founding of ICPA in 2012 it is only fitting that the NSW State conference be held in Bourke. We look forward to welcoming delegates and visitors as well as past members. A busy time ahead for the branch!

Burke branch

2012 Conference Converors Sue Davis and Lisa Ridge with NSW State President David Cameron.


Branch Life Members
Mrs Toni Ridge
Mrs Pat Edgley (deceased)
Mrs Judy Jakins
Mr Bob Ridge (deceased)
Mr Wally Mitchell
Mrs Rona Davis

Loading map...